Skip to content

It’s Still Halloween, Right?

November 3, 2008

Better late than never.  I thought I would have time to post these earlier, but didn’t.  I made caramel apples for my friends/family this year.  I used this recipe, from CHOW, but subbed in Earth Balance for the butter, French Silk Soy Creamer for the heavy cream, & brown rice syrup for the corn syrup.  They turned out great!  I rolled them in different things, combinations of pecans, peanuts, & chocolate chips.

And here are my friends’ jack-o-lanterns.  Matt’s alien invaders are on the top & Ethan’s creepy hacked-up face is on the bottom.  Mine was mysteriously not documented.  Darn.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2008 6:49 pm

    Mmm, caramel apples are awesome! Wish I could have made some this year, but I missed Halloween altogether. But hey, they would still be a great Thanksgiving treat, right? 🙂

  2. November 3, 2008 7:48 pm

    The caramel apple looks delicious, especially rolled in nuts and chocolate! I love the jack-o-lantern with the hands.

  3. November 3, 2008 9:12 pm

    Oooh those look so good! I haven’t eaten those since I was vegan and now I think I must try this recipe. Looks delish!

  4. November 3, 2008 9:15 pm

    oh dang. that caramel apple looks so exquisite. All you caramel apple-making people are seriously amazing. I wish someone would just make me one… so that I wouldn’t have to make it and see how many naughty ingredients go into the final product!

  5. November 4, 2008 12:09 am

    Please. These caramel apples look amazing. They put the county fair to shame.

  6. November 4, 2008 12:44 am

    Ooh, that caramel apple looks so yummy!

  7. November 4, 2008 4:42 am

    that caramel apple looks delish but that cute little jolly green giant-looking thing steals the post for me! i just want to squeeze his little green cheeks!

  8. November 4, 2008 5:21 am

    halloween can last as long as you want… especially with treats like these. 😉

  9. November 4, 2008 5:22 am

    the pumpkins look great! And I love the green color of that apple peeking out of the caramel.

  10. November 4, 2008 6:48 am

    That apple looks amazing!!! Great pumpkins, too!

  11. November 4, 2008 9:46 am

    The caramel apples look perfect. Great shot!

  12. November 4, 2008 10:10 am

    OMG! delicious looking. your pix are always so stunning. just as tasty-looking as all the CRAZY goodies from your last post. i could eat it all.

    looks like your halloween was perfect.

  13. November 4, 2008 11:29 am

    Thank you SO MUCH everyone! I hope all your Halloweens were excellent: full of sugar & scariness.

  14. November 4, 2008 1:58 pm

    i think i just drooled onto the paperwork on my desk – those apples, oh my gosh! mmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

    hooray for awesome pumpkins, too! yay!

  15. November 4, 2008 11:50 pm

    I want me some of those apples!!!! Great pumpkins, too!

  16. November 5, 2008 3:35 pm

    Beautiful caramel apples! I’ll have to try your modified recipe!

  17. November 5, 2008 7:37 pm

    That caramel apple looks incredible! What a great picture.

  18. November 6, 2008 9:21 pm

    That apple looks so gooey. I’m totally sugared out at the moment but I had to say that your cupcakes and sugar cookies in the last post are so pretty.

  19. veganshane permalink
    November 7, 2008 6:53 pm

    Oooo I want a caramel apple!!! We have yet to make them this year.

  20. November 8, 2008 6:35 pm

    Let’s say… it’s ALWAYS halloween so you can keep posting your lovely halloween delights (and we can all keepd drooling over them).

  21. November 8, 2008 7:57 pm

    I’m glad you guys aren’t too mad about my tardiness! Let me know if you make the apples too!

  22. November 9, 2008 4:15 pm

    those apples look amazing!!! i didn’t make any this year for some stupid reason… and now i want to.

  23. gail permalink
    November 9, 2008 8:38 pm

    I am so impressed that you made vegan caramel apples! They look lovely. I think that I will be making these soon for absolutely no reason whatsoever … just because they look delicious.

  24. November 11, 2008 4:57 am

    Lovely – I remember my mum making these on bonfire night when I was reaaaally young. It might be time to revisit them as a vegan!

  25. February 8, 2012 2:25 pm

    Ellen: You said, How would you like it if your right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness was suddenly challenged and hindered?

Leave a Reply

