Skip to content

Off to the Coast!

September 13, 2008

Well, not until tomorrow, but I doubt I’ll post anything else before I go.  It’s Ethan’s birthday this Tuesday, so we’re going to visit his parents for a few days.  He’s requested some vegan ribz, and I thought I’d make him some pepperoni as a surprise.  He always raves about it.  I wanted to make all of Celine’s sausage variations, but I didn’t have a ton of gluten flour, and money’s too tight right now to justify going to the store for weenies.  I made my own BBQ sauce because I had two bottles of ketchup (sale!) at my disposal.  I think it’s good & it was definitely easy to make.  I didn’t take pictures of the ribz, but here’s a previous ribz post from last year.

Saucy!

Quick BBQ Sauce of Desperation

  • 24 oz. ketchup
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon smoked paprika
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • tons of freshly ground pepper

Whisk everything together in a saucepan.  Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until it begins to bubble.  Lower heat to just a simmer, partially cover, & let it cook for 5 minutes.  Remove from heat & cool.

Pepperoni from Vegan Vittles

Have a great weekend!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2008 4:58 pm

    Have fun, and happy birthday to Ethan! 🙂

  2. Celine permalink
    September 14, 2008 1:52 am

    have a great time!

  3. September 14, 2008 2:22 am

    Have fun!

  4. September 14, 2008 6:12 am

    Have a great trip. The pepperoni looks tasty too!

  5. September 14, 2008 8:34 am

    Have fun! Now I’m craving something very saucy and savory!

  6. September 14, 2008 12:15 pm

    Thanks! You guys are so sweet!

  7. Courtney permalink
    September 14, 2008 12:58 pm

    I have been looking for a BBQ sauce that doesn’t have refined sugar in it for ages…thanks! Can’t wait to try it! Have a safe trip!

    Courtney

  8. September 15, 2008 8:04 am

    Have a great time! Veggeroni and bbq-sauce sounds awesome.

  9. September 15, 2008 8:35 pm

    Oh man that sauce looks so amazing…..

    Have fun!

  10. September 16, 2008 5:57 am

    Vegan Vittles Pepperoni! I gots to get me some!

    Have a great trip!

  11. September 17, 2008 8:28 am

    that sauce looks SCRUMPTIOUS! have a great time!

  12. Jennifer permalink
    September 17, 2008 11:25 am

    Mmmm…that looks like a great recipe! I’m always looking for a fast and easy BBQ recipe and one that doesn’t contain bad sugars! Hooray for agave nectar!

  13. September 19, 2008 1:57 pm

    Yay! For the longest time I couldn’t access your blog. So glad I can now. That sauce sounds amazing 🙂

  14. September 19, 2008 7:52 pm

    Thanks again! Wow. I’m glad to provide BBQ goodness for y’all (that was my best Southern accent!).

    Jessica—That is weird. I have no idea what would have caused that? I will blame the U.S. government though, because they’re behind many an evil agenda.

  15. September 22, 2008 5:11 pm

    oh man, i LOVE quick and easy homemade condiments!

  16. September 27, 2008 11:43 pm

    jennifer—Me too!

Leave a Reply

