Skip to content

Big Ol’ Post!

September 5, 2008

I’ve had so much fun over the past couple of days!  Yesterday, I went to visit my sister & she showed me all the free apples she’d recently picked.  She also got pears & gave me a bunch of apples & pears, plus cucumbers, a mystery hot pepper, a jalapeno & a ton of tomatoes from her garden!

If you live in Portland, you’ve probably noticed that most people let their fruit trees drop their bounty right onto the ground, then leave them to rot.  Fuck that!  It’s so wasteful.  My sister & I pick the fruit & use it.  I’m not sure about the legality of this, but the trees are usually in the strip of grass between the road & the sidewalk, so it doesn’t seem wrong.  Plus, it’s worse to see them rotting into the ground.  They taste better than anything you could get at the store.

Here is a tiny cutie!

My sister made applesauce while we chatted, then we headed to Bye & Bye.  I’ve never been there before, so it was pretty exciting, especially since my sis was buying!  Smels (my sister’s nickname) ordered a sandwich that had smoky, seasoned tofu, avocado, hot sauce, Vegenaise, & maybe lettuce on it.  I can’t remember the cutesy names that our dinners had, but whatever.  She got brussel sprouts as her side dish.

I ordered the chili dog.  It had the works on it, as well as some tasty chili (obviously!).  I got the tofu side dish.  We also had some cheap beer to go with.  I can’t say enough about the food!  It was amazing.  The menu descriptions seriously do not do justice to the flavors.  I can’t wait to go back again!  Our awesome friend Jeremy met us there, but didn’t eat anything, since he works at a vegan restaurant downtown & had already eaten.

*************************************************************************************************************

Then, this morning, my sister called & asked if I wanted to ride with her to Fubonn.  I am horrible about riding my bike because I am so afraid of being hit by a car, but I do walk a lot.  This fear has only grown since my sister was hurt badly by an idiot driver!  I’m so glad we went though.  It’s not too far from my house & the ground is nearly flat.  As usual, I could not control myself at the grocery store, even though I had to haul everything in my panier.  This isn’t even all of it (sad!).  I also got cilantro, lemongrass, avocados, bean sprouts, young ginger, galangal & inari sushi pouches.  If you live in Portland, check it out!  Yeah, it smells fishy inside, but there are so many vegan treasures hiding within.  And their prices are way better than other stores.

Here are a few particularly intriguing finds.  Hazelnut wafers

Whip It (***not like the sort you get high from***), which I’m pretty sure will help me make some stiff coconut whipped cream…

Pineapple candy, similar to those strawberry candies that are hard, with chewy filling.  I’ve always loved the strawberry ones, & thought these were cool because they’re flavored with natural pineapple, not artificial junk…

Lastly, here is some sushi that I made for lunch.  I actually made a ton because Ethan is coming over tonight.  The rolls have fried onion flavored tofu, cucumbers (from sis), avocado & toasted sesame seeds.  The inari has the usual sushi rice, plus extra avocado & tofu chunks.  I’m also planning on making the Pad Thai from Vegan With a Vengeance tonight.  I can’t believe I haven’t made it already!

************************************************************************************************************

Book blurb.  Finished this yesterday, while waiting for the bus(es):

14.)  Adulthood Rites by Octavia Butler

I’ll probably lay off the reading for a few days because I’m obsessing over my craft project that I’m working on.  I was “stuck” because I ran out of supplies, but my package came today.  Awesome!

************************************************************************************************************

Whew, that was a long one!  Have a good Friday, everyone!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. acookinthemaking permalink
    September 5, 2008 4:03 pm

    Hey!! Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog–and thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I will definitely add you too 🙂 Your blog is really cool–I can’t believe you can make your own sushi! That is definitely on my list of things to learn how to do…

  2. Jennifer permalink
    September 5, 2008 7:42 pm

    Superb looking sushi! Good job!

    I’m envious of all your grocery loot and of your delicious-sounding dinner. A vegan chili dog would hit the spot right now!

  3. September 5, 2008 11:37 pm

    What a fun grocery haul! I haven’t made the pad thai from vwav either. Hope it turns out great for you.

  4. September 6, 2008 1:15 am

    Great looking sushi. I am all for picking up the fruit myself – I wish someone had some trees like that near me. I have been known to cross the street and pick oranges right off a tree though! I love little apples. I am going to have to go to the store now and buy little apples!

  5. September 7, 2008 3:58 pm

    acookinthemaking—Sure! I really like the recipe & directions in Veganomicon. I usually add more sweetener & some salt to the sushi rice though. It’s much easier than it looks!

    Jennifer—Thank you. I know, now I want another chili dog!

    Lisa—It was really good! But I made it too spicy for my friend’s tastes, so he couldn’t really eat much of it. Oops. **more for me**

    Nikki—It’s so fun picking them on your own! It’s like “hunting”, but non-evil, & for fruit. :o)

  6. September 9, 2008 10:16 am

    Kudos to you for picking up the apples! I hate to see anything go to waste, and especially food when there are so many people starving in this world.

  7. September 9, 2008 9:48 pm

    Vaishali—Thanks. I thought I might get people yelling at me for “stealing” it. To me, it says a lot about our (perceived) distance from hunger, not to mention food production, that people let fruit fall & rot on the ground, but they must go to the store to buy fruit there! What the heck!?

  8. September 10, 2008 9:10 am

    What a great idea to use whip it for coconut whipping cream! I’ll have to try that myself.

  9. September 10, 2008 7:55 pm

    I bought some of that Whip It. I can’t wait to see how it works for you. I haven’t really had a chance to use mine yet.

  10. September 10, 2008 11:29 pm

    Sanja—Who knows if it’ll work? I hadn’t heard of the stuff, but thought it might come in handy. Oh man, now I’m imagining pumpkin pie with coconut whipped cream on it!

    Diann—Me neither. I’m super curious, but not sure when I’ll get around to experimenting.

  11. September 14, 2008 5:00 pm

    Hey, great blog! I just clicked on your website from your ppk avatar and had to leave a comment because it is so rare to find anyone that knows who Octavia E. Butler is! She’s one of my favorite authors. I almost cried in Powell’s last year when I went to get a new book and they had put a little RIP card on her shelf :(. And yes about the apples! They are so nice and sour!

Leave a Reply

