Skip to content

My Hundredth Post!

September 4, 2008

So I finally made it to 100!  Of course, any excuse for baking a cake & I’m there.  Even though this cake isn’t as light & fluffy as the recipes in VCTOTW, it holds a special place in my heart.  In one of my previous vegan incarnations, in the very first apartment I rented on my own, I would make this simple, cheerful cake when I needed a little mood boost.

It’s a mini lemon cake with raspberry filling, from How It All Vegan.  I baked this in my 6X3-inch cake pan, then sliced it into three layers once it was cool.  It took much longer to bake than the following directions indicate, since it was way thick.

Lemon Cake **from How It All Vegan**

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup soy milk
  • 2 teaspoons lemon extract
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • egg replacer for one egg (I use Ener-G)

Preheat oven to 350*F.  Grease & flour a round cake pan & set aside.  In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder & salt.  In a small bowl, whisk together the sugar, soy milk, lemon extract, zest, oil & egg replacer.  Add the liquid ingredients to the dry & whisk just until combined.  Pour into the prepared cake pan & bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Set aside to cool while you prepare the icing…

Lemon Icing

  • 1/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons soy milk
  • 1 teaspoon lemon extract

Cream the margarine & half the sugar together in a medium bowl.  Add the remaining sugar alternately with the liquids.  Stir until completely smooth, adding more sugar or liquid if necessary.

This frosting makes just enough to frost a one-layer cake, but worked perfectly on my triple-layer, since I used raspberry jam inside the beast.

Inside shot:

*************************************************************************************************************

Book Blurb:

13.) Dawn by Octavia Butler

I am seriously devouring all of this woman’s books!  I only wish she were still around to keep writing them.

I actually finished this one a couple of days ago & am almost finished with the next in this series, Adulthood Rites.  It feels great to be ahead of my 52-books-a-year goal!  Especially since it’s hard to read once I’m in school & back to work again.  Here is a passage I especially loved.  Long story short, it’s about a part-alien, part-human being, who is trying to learn more about his humanity.  This is him remembering something his mother told him before he was in a particularly scary situation, involving human “resisters”:

“Human beings fear difference,” Lilith had told him once.  “Oankali crave difference.  Humans persecute their different ones, yet they need them to give themselves definition and status…When you feel a conflict, try to go the Oankali way.  Embrace difference.”

I really love this, especially since I’m into sociology!  Ms. Butler’s words are so applicable to “real life”, especially concerning issues of racism, speciesism, sexism, classism, heterosexism, etc.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 1:17 pm

    What an excellent looking cake. Mr. S-C would particularly like the hundreds and thousands (sprinkles) as they are his favourite.

  2. September 4, 2008 2:18 pm

    That is one good-looking cake! I can see why you call it “cheerful”–I think a big hunk would cheer me up about now!

  3. Courtney permalink
    September 4, 2008 4:28 pm

    Happy 100th post! That cake looks mouth watering…yum!

    Courtney

  4. September 4, 2008 6:32 pm

    Gorgeous cake! And congratulations on 100 posts. =)

  5. September 4, 2008 7:08 pm

    Congrats on your 100th post! That cake is the perfect way to celebrate, I love HIAV.

  6. September 4, 2008 7:36 pm

    Happy 100 posts- Beauty of a cake you’ve got there. 🙂

  7. September 4, 2008 9:36 pm

    It is a very happy cake and I want a piece right now! I need cake – must have cake!

  8. September 5, 2008 3:31 am

    That cake looks AMAZINGLY good! Now I have to make cake this weekend…..

  9. September 5, 2008 5:46 am

    Congratulations for making it to your hundredth post. What a great cake to celebrate it with.

  10. September 5, 2008 5:58 am

    Congratulations! 100 is quite the accomplishment! So I am going to get crazy tonight and make some vegan rice krispy treats but need to find a convenient place to pick up vegan marshmallows. Suggestions?

  11. Jennifer permalink
    September 5, 2008 8:41 am

    That cake with those refreshing flavors and adorable sprinkles would boost anybody’s mood!

    Congrats on your 100th post!

  12. September 5, 2008 3:25 pm

    Thank you everyone! It’s so much fun blogging…meeting new people through their blogs &, of course, finding new recipes & inspiration!

  13. September 7, 2008 2:11 pm

    mm mmm! that is one tasty looking cake. Congrats on reaching 100!!

  14. September 9, 2008 10:17 am

    Yum, the perfect cake!

  15. September 9, 2008 2:31 pm

    Congrats on the big 1-0-0!!! We recently hit 100 at the Primate as well! Isn’t it so fun!?! And that cake looks super delicioso! It would’ve been perfect with the feast I created for my 100. Love the raspberry jam between the layers! Nicely done!!

  16. September 10, 2008 11:43 pm

    Thanks guys! Congrats, Sara!

Leave a Reply

