Skip to content

Vegan Skittles!

September 2, 2008

Yes, I’m serious. I bought these for my sister, who was a hardcore Skittles addict when we were kids. She’s a vegetarian, so when I found this lovely online store, I knew I had to buy a batch of these for her. (Of course I kept a few packets for myself!) The flavors are: strawberry, orange, lemon, green apple (instead of lime), & grape.

As far as I can tell, they are completely vegan. The ingredients are down below. I was afraid they would contain carmine, but according to this site, the code for carmine (or cochineal) is E120, so they’re safe! Yes, these were spendy. Yes, the packets are tiny, similar to what we would hand out for Halloween treats, but if you know someone who would be appreciative of vegan or vegetarian Skittles, it’s good to know they’re available.

P.S. Alsundus also carries gelatin-free Starbursts! Not sure about carmine though.

Advertisements
17 Comments leave one →
  1. chris permalink
    September 2, 2008 1:32 pm

    i got them last summer from an online British store. The shipping is crazy, but the actual candy is not too expensive and comes in the big bags.

    http://www.britishsupermarketworldwide.com/acatalog/info_31223.html

  2. September 2, 2008 2:00 pm

    This is the first time I have seen your blog, and I absolutely love it and am adding you to my blogroll.

  3. September 2, 2008 2:48 pm

    Carmine is NOT VEGAN..it’s a natural red color found in the scales of insects, to which the insects are boiled, undertaken through a process of filtering out the color, which is then mixed with other stuff like alum or cream of tartar. The E #’s would seem to be the only uncertainties..but I think the ones used in these Skittles might be okay. Here’s a link to the E#’s in foods..
    http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e100-200.htm

    Wow! How great!! I used to love skittles…hmm..I feel a childhood candy attack coming on! 🙂

  4. September 2, 2008 10:49 pm

    Crazy! I haven’t had Skittles in who knows how long, but it’s awesome to know that it wouldn’t be impossible to have them again as a vegan.

  5. Jennifer permalink
    September 3, 2008 7:10 am

    This is great! Not that I eat a lot of candy, but it’s awesome to know there are some options out there. I’m sad, though, that lime has been replaced by green apple…

  6. September 3, 2008 7:27 pm

    OHMAGAH this is so awesome!!! I used to be so obsessed with Skittles; EVERY DAY during my junior year of college, I had a Diet Dr. Pepper and a pack of Skittles for breakfast, I swear I am not exaggerating. And I weighed like two pounds, so now that I know vegan Skittles are out there, maybe I will go back to my soda/candy diet!!

  7. September 3, 2008 10:50 pm

    chris—Oh cool, thanks! Yeah, these candies weren’t that expensive either, but with the shipping added, it sort of sucked.

    Jessica—Thank you. I added you to mine as well!

    Sara—I know, childhood memories, in sugar form!

    BitterSweet—Yeah, it gives one a sense of candy freedom. :o)

    Jennifer—I think the Euro Skittles have the lime flavor, but substitute black currant for the grape ones. We need to pressure the American Skittles people to lay off the gelatin!

    Kirby!—That sounds like a tasty diet!

  8. September 4, 2008 8:26 am

    very cool find. i bet the size is more of an accurate serving of candy anyhow.

  9. September 4, 2008 8:33 am

    Very cool. Sometimes you need a little candy 🙂

  10. September 4, 2008 7:10 pm

    Oh this is dangerous information – I used to love Skittles!

  11. September 4, 2008 7:15 pm

    god i loved skittles!!!!!!! so happy to read this post!

  12. September 5, 2008 3:26 pm

    cindy—Good point! I am guilty of being used to “American” proportions. Yikes!

    madcap cupcake—I agree!

    Rural Vegan—If you check out the shipping costs, maybe you can save yourself. :o)

    quarrygirl—Awesome! I’m so glad.

  13. October 23, 2008 11:51 am

    I want these!!! Thank you for alerting me to their existence.

  14. Jenny permalink
    April 22, 2009 10:46 pm

    OMG These are so good! When I became Vegan I never thought I’d have them again. I found someone who sold Vegan Skittles and Starbursts too – so good! Also I bought gummies, those are my favorite of all. you can find them here: http://souq.shutterfly.com/halalcandies

    Awesomeness! Thank Gawd for these

  15. Jenny permalink
    April 22, 2009 10:46 pm

    I was just looking up something and this site came up in google searches, I’m now realizing how late I am LMAO

  16. Lia permalink
    November 11, 2010 6:51 am

    They look great but it’s a pity they have palm oil in them. I’ve come across a number of gluten-free and vegan products recently that have palm oil. So disappointing 😦

  17. October 24, 2011 1:04 pm

    Has anyone confirmed that the sugar is vegan?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: