Skip to content

Book Post

August 29, 2008

11.) Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

This was a re-read, but it’s been a long time, so it was pretty much like new, except I remembered the “surprise” at the end, which was a bummer. I was also shocked by what I found to be hardcore racist dialog in the book, as well as a lot of ethnic stereotyping. Doing a little googling, I found that OSC appears to have some homophobic & racist leanings, but I don’t really want to link to it on here. It’s just disappointing to always encounter such close-minded bullshit. Overall, a good book, but I don’t like giving money to people with such views. I think I bought this one used though. Back to good old Octavia Butler, who never lets me down…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2008 6:24 pm

    Hmmm. I might have to reread it now. I don’t remember any racism.

    Also, Card is distinctly not racist (at least in my memory) in his Adam Maker books.

  2. August 30, 2008 12:26 pm

    lucidlunatic—I have a pretty high racism/sexism radar, which I think is a good thing. My friend disagrees with me about the racism in Ender’s Game, so I guess we all perceive things differently. I will look for the Adam Maker books next time I go to Goodwill. They always have a bunch of OSC books there. Thank you for the suggestion. :o)

  3. veganshane permalink
    August 31, 2008 7:43 pm

    I might have to reread Ender’s Game as well, I have some hazy recollections of stuff that was a little off-putting, on the whole the book was entertaining, and I read the series up to Ender’s Shadow. In recent years I have learned OSC is sort of a conservative twit.

  4. September 1, 2008 12:26 pm

    veganshane—Yeah, it sucks to re-read a book & find a bunch of gross political opinions woven into it, but at least we’re aware of such stuff. I haven’t read any of the other Ender books either, but will keep an eye out for them (used).

Leave a Reply

