Skip to content

Putting My Veggies to Good Use

August 28, 2008

Warning, this post is many days old. I just haven’t had time to publish it or blog much, since I have house guests. I’ll hopefully post something tomorrow & catch up on my blogging then!

******************************************************************************************************************

Okay, so I made an entire giant WholeSoy tub of pesto with nearly all the basil I bought yesterday. I set aside a branch or two for this eggplant dip/pasta sauce. It’s adapted from a Caprial recipe that was on her PBS show years ago. I really love it with hot crusty bread.

Here it is (crap nighttime picture alert!) over whole wheat penne, with some zucchini I sauteed in garlic butter till tender. Yum! I added chopped tomatoes on top of it all, once I remembered I had some.

Eggplant Dip

  • 1 eggplant (the big, dark purple type)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1 tablespoon fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh tomatoes
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/4-1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil (I use 1/3 cup)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425*F. Cut eggplant in half, lengthwise. Place, cut side up, on a cookie sheet, then drizzle with the olive oil & some salt. Bake for 45 minutes, or until softened. Set aside until it’s cool enough to handle.

Scoop flesh from the eggplant into a food processor. Add the remaining ingredients & blend until fairly smooth. Taste it as you go, adding salt, pepper, etc. until it’s just right. Serve warm. It’s got a nice bite to it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2008 5:59 pm

    even your “crap nighttime pictures” look tasty!

  2. Courtney permalink
    August 29, 2008 3:12 pm

    Mmmm….that looks lovely! I think your photo looks amazing–if that is “crap” then your “good” ones must be dangerous!

    Courtney

  3. August 31, 2008 12:49 pm

    Lisa—Thanks! I always feel bad posting them if they’re super yellow & stuff, but oh well!

    Courtney—Thank you very much! :o)

Leave a Reply

