Skip to content

Black Bean Enchiladas

August 19, 2008

These are from the other night. I boiled up my soaked black beans with a half an onion & 3 bay leaves, then seasoned them with chili powder, cumin, Cajun seasoning, salt, minced jalapenos & cilantro once they were soft. Then I wondered what I was going to do with them. I was just having a fun night of prepping food, freezing stuff for later, and cleaning out my freezer. All that could seem like a chore, but it’s fun when you have some music playing (preferably Gorillaz) and sip a glass of Pinot Noir as you work. No worries.

I decided to go with enchiladas, the miracle food. Seriously, I could never get tired of them & every time I make them they’re different. Even though you can barely make out the enchiladas under the heap of toppings, these simply had seasoned black beans, black olives, & green onions inside. There was actually more on the outside of them! I piled them high with tomatoes, pickled jalapenos, green onions, avocados, roasted red pepper hummus, & some lime wedges on the side. Whew!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    August 20, 2008 7:55 am

    SO jealous of the Pinot Noir you sipped while making dinner. I love that idea, but don’t think it would work out so well for me since I’m usually simultaneously cooking and looking after my daughter. Drunk Mommy is no good!

    Not only are enchiladas the miracle food, but I think Mexican is the miracle cuisine! Just lovely!

  2. August 20, 2008 10:53 pm

    What about a half glass? Even I’m not drunk at that point. :o)

    I agree! I could eat Mexican food every day (and usually do!). It’s so good, even without cheese.

Leave a Reply

