Skip to content

Major Catch-up Post

August 16, 2008

Hello friends. Sorry it’s been so long, but now I’m down to two more class sessions all summer, so I have more time to cook & craft & all that fun stuff.

Even though I had a paper due on Thursday, for my Ecofeminist Spirituality class, I went to the coast with Ethan Tuesday night, so that we could go crystal-hunting. We stayed the night at his parents, who are just about the nicest, most generous people in existence. We got to see Ruben, who is staying with them on the coast, so he won’t get heat stroke out here. Here is a cute picture of him sleeping. Even though Cathy & David bought him a huge, cushy bed, he just kind of missed, but used it as a pillow.

We woke up Wednesday morning at 6:00, so that we could go to Bayocean at low-ish tide. Ethan’s brother said there are really amazing agates and shells there, since hardly any people go there, especially not tourists (bonus!). Here is a picture of the beautiful view from Netarts, which we drove past on the way. I miss living on the coast, but would love to teleport all the hillbilly racists who live there (relatives included) to another planet.

We walked for a couple miles out the Bayocean spit & found a few little sand dollars and agates, but it was no big whoop, so we turned back. Bayocean actually has a really amazing history. This website has old black & white pictures of its heyday.

Next, we tried our luck up Beaver Creek, where there are supposedly tons of quartz crystals up the creek a ways. Here I have to admit my biggest, most irrational & embarrassing fear: water, but mostly what lives in the water…fish, eels, snails, etc. It’s fucking ridiculous, but is probably rooted in the various water-related traumas my dad put me through. Thank you so much. I’m trying to get over it (I’m not afraid of snakes, spiders, or most creepy-crawlies, dammit), but I pretty much squealed/screamed as I walked through the creek. Besides my dorkiness, we really couldn’t hike miles up the creek, as Andrew advised, because there were downed trees every 20 yards or so. We found some rocks and it was hilarious fun, but nada.

Surprisingly we still had hope of finding some sparkly crystals, so we at last headed to Newport, to a spot a Goodwill cashier tipped Ethan off to. We dug through some clay banks for about an hour, with our makeshift driftwood archaeological tools, but ended up laughing at ourselves & our blisters.

Refusing to go home without a single damned crystal, we went to our favorite New Age store, The Crystal Wizard, & each bought a crystal necklace. We had a lot of fun searching, so it wasn’t that humiliating purchasing our pendants. Gah! I did ask if these people who gave us such great “tips” were going to f-ing reimburse us for gas! :o)

******************************************************************************************************************

Before it’s too late, I also need to show off this tasty treat my sister got for me in Canada, when she went to stay with her friend Mike. Ketchup chips! They’re my favorite, & yet another reason why Canada is so much better than the U.S.

Bonus shot of a pretty poppy at my sis’ house:

P.S. I ended up starting my paper the morning it was due (not that shocking if you knew me), but the cool thing was that I wrote it about veg*nism and how it is a more spiritual & feminist way of eating (read The Sexual Politics of meat!) and living, in that those who eat meat are inherently consuming suffering. My teacher, Frodo, who is my favorite professor, is a pagan, ecofeminist, and activist. I love her. Anyway, she completely encourages her students’ creativity, so the last page of my paper included recipes for a totally vegan day of feasting, including my own carrot cake recipe. I think she’ll like it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2008 4:04 pm

    That sounds like a fantastic paper. I’ve been thinking recently that there seems to be a higher percentage of feminists among vegans than the non-vegan population. It gives me hope for feminism when I see all the feminist vegan blogs out there!

  2. August 16, 2008 6:26 pm

    I feel the same way. We just need to teach people to ignore the close-minded stereotypes that keep them from calling themselves feminists or exploring veganism/vegetarianism. If only the whole world were made up of feminist vegetarians, ahhhh..

  3. August 16, 2008 10:48 pm

    As a feminist vegetarian I love that you are taking that course – oh I wish they had stuff like that back when I was in school (in the late 80’s). Very cool that you geat to be creative with it too.

    Lovely photos as usual of some beautiful places.

  4. vegtasticvoyage permalink
    August 17, 2008 9:32 am

    As far as the feminism-veg link, I think you would find a correlation between anti-racist and veg or other understanding-/compassion-/open-eyed(ness) and veg. We’re people who have taken that step back and gotten a good look at the world and seen through the bullshit. “The way it is” doesn’t have to be the way it is. My go-to phrase is “thinking beyond the palm of your hand,” in that when you touch (or hit) something, the effect does not stop at what you feel in your hand.

    Oh, and have you tried those watersock things? I get super creeped out walking in the shallows, feeling sand and little critters all about my toes. Watersocks not only help me ignore that but add a little traction to my feet.

  5. August 17, 2008 11:38 am

    Nikki—You should go back to take a few classes! And I’m 29, so it’s not like I’m fresh out of high school. There are so many “non-traditional” students at my school, even many elderly people. I feel that having a mixed age group really enriches the classroom because people have different life experiences (plus, sometimes the youngest students aren’t ready or mature enough yet). It’s pretty great.

    vegtasticvoyage—I completely agree. Once you change your mindset, your perception is more open to noticing oppression on all levels, not that there aren’t racist or sexist veg*ans (some of my co-workers…). I love your go-to phrase! Thank you for sharing it.

    I should get some watersocks! I was wearing Ethan’s dad’s rubber books, which provided the necessary coverage, but were really slippery & hard to maneuver in. It was a riot.

  6. August 20, 2008 12:09 pm

    Oh yeah, Sexual Politics of Meat is a great book! So enraging, in a good way – gets me all fired up on my vegan and feminism soapbox! Mmm…carrot cake! How great to include recipes in a term paper! Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

