Skip to content

It’s a Fact…Unicorns Love Chocolate Pudding

July 12, 2008

Or at least I do! I was a little down in the dumps yesterday, one of the reasons being that my apartment complex sucks big time!*** I just received a notice of non-compliance, because my garden was growing successfully! This place is so ridiculous in its rules. Like, if a guest comes over 15 times, they must be subjected to a $40 background check. Not gonna happen.

Anyway, the “problem” with my plants was that the peas, nasturtiums, & sweetpeas were growing through & climbing the hideous rust-colored, 1960’s lattice porch rails. Ugh. So, last night I had to pretty much destroy my plants, pulling them through the precious mesh. I’m still really pissed & if a chance to move comes soon, I’ll be giving my notice, then smearing the name of this place. Yes, I’m bitter.

In order to soothe my guilty, plant-murderous conscience, I thought pudding would do the trick! It’s my variation on the Chocolate Pudding from VWAV:

Chocolate Butter-Rum Pudding

  • 2 cups soy milk
  • 3 tablespoons arrowroot
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • good pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon margarine
  • 1 teaspoon rum extract

In a medium saucepan, whisk together the arrowroot, sugar, cocoa powder, & salt. Whisk constantly over medium heat until thick & bubbly. Remove from heat & stir in the margarine & rum extract. Pour into little mugs or cups & chill, covered, until you can’t stand it any longer, & dig in! This flavor is made lovelier by sprinkling some toasted, salted pecans on top before serving.

*****************************************************************************************************************

In non-grumpy news, I got my birthday package in the mail today! I used some of the money my Step-dad & Step-mom (my brother’s dad & wife—yeah, our family is confusing) sent, & bought a spice grinder & a Madhur Jaffrey cookbook so I can crank out some good food. I was torn between this book & her Indian vegetarian one, but I thought this would be best, since I’m interested in more types of cuisine than just Indian. I can’t wait to grind some shit up!

***I guess I should have wondered about this apartment complex, especially considering that when I first moved in, I got this note on my door:

Um, someone was a wee bit disgruntled, I’m guessing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2008 6:10 am

    I shouldn’t laugh at your misery, but I am! Your complex sounded a little strict and paranoid until I saw the “notice”. Now I’m REALLY laughing!

  2. July 14, 2008 10:41 am

    It’s like the Twilight Zone here…

  3. April 8, 2012 1:59 pm

    That would be totally cool!

Leave a Reply

