Skip to content

Berry Tart w/Coconut Oil Crust!

July 12, 2008

Yowza! I made this because my momma is coming to stay with me for (supposedly) two weeks, but I’m sure we’ll drive each other crazy before then. Studio apartment + summer heat + two fiesty ladies = trouble.

I haven’t tasted it yet, but I tried the filling & the raw crust separately, and they were excellent! The coconut oil is from my sis for my birthday, so I hope she’s coming over tomorrow to try it out. The recipe was just sort of a mixture of internet ones I found, and contains strawberries (from my garden), as well as frozen cherries, blueberries, blackberries, & raspberries. Yum! Berries & coconut go super well together.

About the crust–I attempted a lattice, but could only pull off a “faux lattice” because the coconut oil crust was really tender & fragile. When I chilled it, it was too hard; at room temp, it was squishy. I still like the look of it though, especially since my dear sister was the one who was born with the gift of piecraft, not moi.

Close-up of sugar crystals & berry ooze:

ETA: I sort of wrote up a “recipe” in the comments, at Ricki’s request, for those interested…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2008 9:33 am

    What? No recipe for that amazing-looking crust?? Please???
    What a beautiful pie, faux lattice or not!

  2. July 13, 2008 9:55 am

    Oops, I just ended up sort of writing the recipe out half-assed:

    *2 1/2 cups unbleached flour
    *1/2 teaspoon salt (I used Kosher)
    *1 cup coconut oil
    *just enough ice water to get it to hold together

    That’s it! I used a fork to mix the coconut oil in, because it began to melt when I used my hands. After rolling & pressing the bottom crust into the tart pan, I chilled that. As that was chilling, I rolled out the rest for the lattice part. I cut those into strips, then chilled them on a cookie sheet.

    For the filling, I precooked a ton of frozen berries & some fresh ones (probably 3 cups total) w/2 tablespoons cornstarch & about 1/3 cup sugar. Chill. Spread into chilled bottom crust. Lay lattice on top & press the ends onto the sides. Bake at 375*F-ish until golden to your liking.

  3. July 13, 2008 12:23 pm

    absolutely gorgeous!

  4. July 13, 2008 5:41 pm

    How lovely! I’ve only just begun experimenting with coconut oil and this sounds like a wonderful use for it.

  5. July 14, 2008 1:37 am

    This is your attempt at a lattice? It looks perfect! I would really like to have a piece…

  6. July 14, 2008 6:07 am

    It looks absolutely gorgeous! I never had the patience for a true lattice crust but when they come out looking like yours, it doesn’t matter! Good luck with your mom!

  7. July 14, 2008 10:40 am

    Thanks everyone! Yeah, it looks more lattice-like than I thought it would, even thought they’re not woven into each other.

    I finally had some & the crust is SO GOOD. Ethan, who hates crust, was caught picking all the crumbs & shards off his plate! He loved the coconut flavor.

  8. July 14, 2008 9:20 pm

    That pie is gorgeous! 🙂

  9. July 15, 2008 8:10 am

    wow! what a perfect pie! it looks awesome!

  10. vegtasticvoyage permalink
    July 15, 2008 3:57 pm

    I’m trying this as soon as it cools off some. The berries have to complement the coconut flavor perfectly. I wish I had a rad sister to buy me fancy-pants foodstuffs.

  11. July 16, 2008 2:03 pm

    Ms. Veganorama & jessy—Thank you both!

    vegtasticvoyage—Yeah, I’m lucky to have such a thoughtful sister. I hope you enjoy your pie when you make it. Some days, even though it’s hot as hell here, I can’t help but bake. It’s an addiction.

  12. Robin permalink
    July 25, 2013 3:20 pm

    Can you substitute Coconut flour for unbleached flour?

  13. Anonymous permalink
    September 27, 2013 9:05 am

    Robin, no you can’t. Coconut flour requires A LOT of eggs to make it bind.

Leave a Reply

