Skip to content

Edible Birthday Gifts

July 5, 2008

My sister is the greatest! Yesterday, we barely squeezed in at Vita Cafe, because they closed early at 3:00 for the holiday. She got the Caesar Salad & I got the Buffalo Tofu Wrap. Mmmmmm. Both were so delicious, & were definitely the best meals I’ve had at Vita so far. Before, I’d get the “Fish” & Chips or the Chicken Fried Tempeh w/Potatoes & Almond Gravy. Not that the food was bad on my earlier trips, but it definitely could have used more salt/seasoning. This time, everything was perfect & our server was really apologetic for us having to wait so long, but we didn’t mind. The place was crammed & we felt lucky to get in at all.

I am so fortunate to have my sister & my brother. My brother is only 11 years old, but he called me yesterday to wish me a happy birthday & chat for an hour. My darling sister, who is a few years younger than me, got me the best presents ever! Of course they’re edible, gourmet, & vegan!

She knows I have a hardcore Vegenaise addiction (jumbo blue jar!), and that I’ve been trying to use less refined sugar, hence the organic brown rice syrup. But the best one, in my opinion, is the organic coconut oil! I’ve never had the guts to shell out for a jar of the stuff, so I’m super excited to dig into this, literally! I’ll be scouring blogs for recipes to put the precious oil to the best use.

I’m going to be making some healthier foods from now on, including more legumes & soups, so they might not seem as exciting or rich, but I’m trying to get a bit healthier, so that I’ll feel as strong as I can for my 30th next year. I even got up & jogged this morning, using this program, which has worked for me (a big-boned lady w/absolutely ZERO athletic ability) in the past. I highly recommend it.

Another goal of mine will be to use more of my (zillions of) cookbooks, and to utilize herbs & spices to the fullest extent. In fact, I ordered a spice grinder & Madhur Jaffrey’s World of the East Vegetarian Cooking book last night so I can explore more Indian recipes. Woohoo! I’d love to hear your suggestions for using the coconut oil, brown rice syrup, or healthier recipe resources.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2008 3:17 pm

    You can make vegan rice krispie bars with the brown rice syrup and raw desserts with the coconut oil.

    Happy Birthday!

  2. July 6, 2008 10:53 am

    Thanks for the ideas! I never thought of making a raw dessert.

  3. July 7, 2008 2:27 pm

    The coconut lime cupcakes in Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World use coconut oil. But that probably doesn’t go well with your resolutions… In Eat, drink & Be Vegan Dreena uses a lot of coconut oil I think.

  4. July 8, 2008 12:28 am

    Sanja–I’m still eating treats, but in moderation. The coconut-lime cupcakes have been on the back of my mind though…

    I should check out ED&BV from the library. Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

