Skip to content

Potluck Peanut Post

June 29, 2008

Today is so freaky for Portland. It’s hot, but we’re having sporadic thunder & rain. It’s actually kind of creepy, because it’s been dark and hot at my house all day. If I have to suffer through heat, I’d at least like a little sunshine please!

Anyway, I completely fucked up a ginormous batch of inari sushi today. My friend, Jeremy, is having a round table discussion on feminism tonight, at Laughing Horse Books (which is really on E. Burnside, not Division, like their hasn’t-been-updated-in-a-million-years website says) at 8:00, so we’re supposed to bring potluck-type finger foods. I thought I’d make inari, since it’s yummy, cold, and I have a million wrappers. Too bad I made the mistake of trying a recipe I’ve never made before! Dammit! The sushi rice (for 20 servings) was SO MUSHY! The water amount was like twice what it should have been, so I ended up wasting not only rice (which is more precious than ever these days), but a whole lotta raw sugar & rice vinegar. Fuck.

So I don’t show up empty-handed, I made these chile lime peanuts, from Gourmet Magazine (so I knew they wouldn’t suck!), & I’ll also bring a big tub of those chocolate chunk coconut cookies that I’ve had in my freezer.

Chile Lime Peanuts *makes 4 cups

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon mild paprika
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne
  • 4 cups unsalted dry-roasted peanuts (about 17 oz.)

Preheat oven to 250*F. Whisk together the juice, oil, & seasonings. Toss the peanuts in the mixture, then pour into a shallow baking pan. Bake for 30 minutes (it took longer for me, & I stirred them a couple times), until coating is dry & fragrant. Cool completely before serving.

Lastly, here’s a bonus shot of my Nasturtiums, which are going wild right now:

Leave a Reply

