Skip to content

Too Hot For Cooking!

June 28, 2008

Shit, it’s hot here today. Well, at least to me–90 degrees right now. This is the extent of my cooking for the day, since I’m a total sweaty grouch:

Tempeh Bacon & Avocado on Cracked Wheat Sourdough Toast.

Iced Chai

Since it’s too warm to do much else, I’ve been crafting away. If you haven’t heard of Perler beads, they’re basically these little plastic beads that come in all colors, which are made for kiddy crafters. When I worked at a preschool for six years, the kids and I had tons of fun with these things.

Well, adults can use them too, and thanks to talented & creative people (not me!), there’s been a whole “movement” of Mario & other pixelated projects floating around the ‘net. All you have to do is search for “mario pixels” or some such thing, and you’ll get tons of graphics which can be used to make Perler projects. What got me into these things again was finding a big tub of them at Goodwill for $2.99, so yesterday I went to the craft store to buy the grid.

Once the beads are in place on the plastic grid sheet, you cover them with parchment, then iron them until they are permanently fused together. These are the six coasters I’ve made so far:

I’ve made Mario cross-stitches as gifts for friends, and still have my original NES, but these are a new way to incorporate old-school Nintendo graphics into my (almost 29-year-old) life. I think they’d make easy presents for any nostalgic twenty-something person.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2008 3:41 pm

    Oh my god this post is magnificent: tempeh bacon and avocado is my fav sandwich combo, iced chai is my favorite summer drink, and those perler coasters are a blast from the past. I used to love making those and I am totally gonna go pick grids up on the way home from work now that you’ve reminded me.

    btw, what brand of tempeh bacon do you use?

  2. July 1, 2008 5:39 pm

    Oh no! The Perler madness is spreading! You should see my floor; I have all these little piles of each color that I’ve separated out from the bowl. It’s kind of embarassing.

    The tempeh I use is from Turtle Island Foods, and I’ve only ever gotten the regular soy type, though they make other varieties. Guess I am afraid to break out of my tempeh comfort zone!

    http://www.tofurky.com/products/tempeh.htm

  3. July 3, 2008 7:43 am

    I was going to comment on your fantastic images of the avocado sandwich until I saw your cross stitch work. Can I order some coasters from you. Seriously??? email me. I am totally interested.

  4. July 3, 2008 8:35 am

    Those cross-stitches are awesome!

  5. July 5, 2008 11:45 am

    Thanks, VeganFabulous & Shawna!

    P.S. VeganFabulous—I just e-mailed you.

  6. Mom permalink
    July 5, 2008 11:58 am

    Destiny!
    I can not believe how talented you are! These are so neat! I’m going to print this photo off & show it to Ruthie! She will love the coasters!
    Love you muchly!
    Mom
    xxoo

  7. July 8, 2008 12:31 am

    Thanks, Mom. I didn’t come up with the idea though. I wish!

  8. July 8, 2008 12:17 pm

    The sandwich looks fabulous! Avocado! Sourdough bread (which I haven’t had in ages!)

  9. July 9, 2008 5:48 pm

    Thanks, LK! I’m all out of avocados now, & must replenish them!

  10. April 22, 2009 12:42 pm

    Cool idea for hot kitchens…
    http://www.vornado.com/undercabinet

Leave a Reply

