Skip to content

Tempeh Reuben

June 26, 2008

Wow! I’ve only had two Reubens in my life (besides my dog, Ruben!), at a cafe here in Portland, and they were really gross and bland. They were made with a gigantic hunk of tofu (like a 1/2 pound, thick slab), which seemed to be marinated in white vinegar or something, on dry bread with gelatinous vegan cheese & sauerkraut. I was really hesitant to let Ethan taste it, but since he hassled me enough, I gave in. All he said was, “It tastes…healthy.” Not really, but I ate it because I have issues with wasting food. I’ll just say that I probably used 1/2 a bottle of ketchup that last time.

Today I decided to make the Tempeh Reuben from Vegan With a Vengeance, as a manifestation of my faith in the potential greatness of this classic sandwich. Thank goodness I did! The recipe was really easy, with a bit of prep, but not anything that would be considered challenging. It’s just that the tempeh needs to marinate for a while, so it’s something you should plan ahead for, or not set out to make when you’re starving. It’s really nutritious too, especially since both sauerkraut & tempeh are fermented foods!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2008 6:12 pm

    oh i love reubens! your’s looks fantastic!

  2. June 27, 2008 3:39 pm

    Thank you. I love them now too!

  3. July 4, 2008 11:27 am

    Oh my goodness, tempeh reubens are the BEST!!!! A veggie restaurant here in Santa Cruz called Dharma’s makes the best tempeh reubens, it’s like you’ve died and gone to heaven (and they’re especially good paired with a peanut butter smoothie!) Anyway, love your blog, thanks for finding me!

  4. July 5, 2008 11:46 am

    Kylie—Wow, now I’ll have to make peanut butter smoothies next time, to go along with the Reubens. Dangerous…

  5. vegancircus permalink
    June 14, 2009 4:02 pm

    I’ve never had a vegan reuben…never had a reuben actually, but this picture makes me want one. I love sauerkraut and tempeh…maybe I will check out the book you reference from the local library and give it a try. Thanks for the idea!!

Leave a Reply

