Skip to content

Gardening & Cleaning Out the Fridge

June 22, 2008

Today, I’ve been super productive, which is nice. Since I live in an apartment, I have a container garden on my deck, but it’s pretty substantial, filled with edibles such as: mixed greens, beets, tomatoes, peas, herbs, and nasturtiums, as well as plants that are grown for their “good looks”: poppies, trees, a venus flytrap, lavender (technically edible too!), and other stuff which I have no idea what the hell it is.

When I lived with Ethan, one of our neighbors, who had worked at a nursery, moved out. When she left, she abandoned tons of plants in the dead heat of the summer, so my sister and I grabbed as much as we could, dragging the treasures to our garden plot. Therefore, I have some mystery plants out there. Today I spent a couple of hours re-potting things, and organizing everything in a more feng shui manner, so guests can go out on the deck without trampling my babies.

Here’s one little inhabitant of my urban garden:

Since I’ve been in the gardening/organizing mode, I haven’t cooked anything amazing, but took some pictures of my “leftovers creations.” Here is the pesto toast I’ve been eating, made with pesto from Vegan With a Vengeance (but with pine nuts, not walnuts), red bell peppers, and kalamata olives, on top of chewy sourdough bread. Yum. The pesto was sort of salty though, so next time I will only add half the amount called for, since I like to slather it on thickly.

And this is a yummy quesadilla, made with canned black refried beans (w/jalapeno), corn tortillas, homemade cheeze sauce, red bell peppers, and green olives. I just layered a tortilla, spread it with beans, put another tortilla on top, spread that with the cheeze, then added the veggies, before baking till bubbly. Green onions would have been good too, but I was sticking to the basics.

Maybe I’ll bake something tonight, but I’m still working on a knitting project, as well as crocheting a net grocery bag, so I might just have a craft night…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 8:58 am

    The quesadilla does look yummy. Gardening is fun but mystery gardening sounds like an added dimension that should kick up the experience a bit.

  2. June 25, 2008 5:57 pm

    Thanks! A bit of mystery is always nice.

Leave a Reply

