Skip to content

Earth Balance=Not Good?

June 22, 2008

I was just reading this on Vegans of Color, and was wondering about alternatives to Earth Balance. I’m really not okay with contributing to slave labor or environmental destruction for the sake of baked goods. Shit.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2008 10:43 am

    willow run! and smart balance. but i don’t know about either company.

  2. June 27, 2008 8:52 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions, Stephanie. I believe that Smart Balance is the same company/product as Earth Balance, but is a regional name difference? Maybe I’m wrong. I might start buying Willow Run, even though it is hydrogenated oil (artery clogger).

  3. July 5, 2008 6:40 am

    Even though Earth Balance isn’t hydrogenated, it IS made with lab-created chemicals. I’d rather use pure organic coconut butter where a firm type of fat is required (as in some baking).

  4. July 5, 2008 11:48 am

    Good point, Ricki. Actually, my sister just got me a jar of virgin coconut oil for my birthday! Can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

