Skip to content

Blueberry Crisp

June 16, 2008

This morning, my appointment was cancelled at the last minute, so I had already gotten up early & showered & all that, so I figured I might as well be productive for the day. I’ve been cleaning out my crafty stuff, selling my school books, and cleaning out the freezer (this included breaking the handle off of it!).

One treasure I found was a big tub of frozen blueberries from Ethan’s dad, David. His garden is amazing, but my favorite part is the forest of blueberry bushes. Since he’ll probably be giving us fresh ones soon, I thought I should make something with the remainder of last year’s batch.

This blueberry crisp is a little snippet I found from Family Circle, or some other garbage magazine that my mom gave me. I only made a half batch, since that’s how many berries I needed to use up. Foolishly, I didn’t halve the crumb topping, since it’s so good, but I learned my lesson…it sunk on one side, too heavy for the blueberry goo to hold. Oops. Don’t be greedy like me.

Blueberry Crisp

  • 1/3 cup sugar (I used raw)
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 7 1/2 cups blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup cold margarine, cut up

Preheat oven to 375*F. In a large bowl, stir together the sugar and cornstarch. Add blueberries & lemon juice, then toss to coat. Pour mixture into a shallow 2 1/2 quart baking dish.

In the same bowl, combine the remaining ingredients. Work the margarine and dry ingredients together until crumbs form. Sprinkle over the blueberries. Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until top is brown and fruit is bubbling on the edges. Cool for an hour before serving (it’s lava!).

****Since my berries were frozen, I baked just the blueberry mixture until it was thawed & slightly thickened (stirring a couple times), then put the topping on & baked till it was golden. It took longer than 45 minutes, but I wasn’t keeping track.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2008 5:13 am

    This looks amazing!

  2. June 18, 2008 5:42 pm

    Thank you!

  3. sulliborch permalink
    August 16, 2009 9:02 am

    what type of margarine was used since I cannot find any that is actually non-dairy.

  4. August 16, 2009 10:56 am

    Earth Balance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

