Skip to content

Lemon Poppyseed Pound Cake

June 15, 2008

I’ve wanted to make the Veganomicon yogurt pound cake for awhile, and so I figured, since my sister is coming over after work, and Ethan is back from the coast, I wouldn’t *have to* eat an entire cake on my own (maybe). I made the lemon variation, and then added 1/4 cup poppyseeds & a simple powdered sugar/lemon juice glaze.

I haven’t had a glazed slice yet, but ate the plain “butt end” after I took it out of the pan. It’s pretty damn tasty. Next time, I will add lemon zest for more tangy flavor. It’s very beautiful too, with a nice crack running down the top (not shown in this photo, but there’s a nice one on my Flickr page). That is, before I slathered it with glaze…

I just love this loaf pan.  I found it on the “free table” in my apartment building’s laundry room!  Score!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2008 11:30 pm

    Oh wow. The cake looks great, and that loaf pan is gorgeous. What a find!

  2. June 16, 2008 1:07 pm

    Thanks, Maggie. The pan is super sturdy & pretty at the same time. I love free stuff!

Leave a Reply

