Skip to content

Finally, Tempeh Wingz!

June 7, 2008

Last night, Ethan and I were planning on watching a movie, so I said I would make a super tasty dinner for us, since he’s going out of town for his brother’s birthday. I have wanted to make tempeh hot wingz for a long time, especially because I’ve heard a lot of praise for them. Since I have never had “real” meat wings ever, being vegetarian (and on/off vegan) for the past 15 years, I was super curious about how they’d turn out. Let me just say…they’re freaking amazing! Ethan ate seconds, even though he’s usually a light eater, so I’m lucky I made a double batch–there are leftovers that I’ll try not to eat for breakfast now, but we’ll see.

The recipe is from the Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk zine #1. I had ordered it last summer, but it never came (damn mailman!), and then they were out of print. Wah. But luckily for you and me, there are some sample recipes up on the web. Try these if you want to have an unhealthfully delicious dinner sometime, or if you are stoned or something, EAT THESE! Seriously, they’re lovely. I served them with roasted potato wedges, celery sticks, and my homemade ranch. Next time I will add more hot sauce to ’em.

Tempeh Wingz

  • 1 8 oz package of tempeh
  • 1/3 c rice milk
  • 1/3 c flour
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 t thyme
  • 1 t paprika
  • fresh ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 2/3 c panko

Sauce:

  • 4 T margarine, melted
  • 2 1/2 T hot sauce
  • 4 T ketchup
  • 2 T agave nectar

In a small saucepan, boil about three cups of water. Cut the tempeh into four equal blocks, then cut those blocks into triangles, and carefully slice the triangles in half lengthwise. Put the tempeh in the boiling water and cover, for about fifteen mintes or until tempeh is softened. Pour the pan into a colander and rise with cold water. Allow the tempeh to cool enough that you can handle it.

While the tempeh is cooling, make the sauce. In a large pot, combine all of the sauce ingredients and set aside.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Make your assembly line for the wings. Put your soymilk in the first bowl, your flour and spices in the second, and your panko in the third. At the end of the line, have a greased baking sheet waiting.

Hopefully by now, the tempeh is cool enough to handle. Take a triangle, and dip it in the milk, then coat in flour. Then another quick dip in the milk before thoroughly coating it in the bread crumbs and placing it on the baking sheet. Repeat with the rest of the tempeh.

Spray the tops of the wings with cooking spray, and bake in the oven for ten minutes. Remove, flip over, and bake for ten more. Just before you take the wings out of the oven, heat the sauce over a medium heat until just warm – there’s no need to boil it, we’re just trying to make sure the sauce isn’t cold.

When you take the wings out, immediately transfer them to the pot and coat in the sauce. Serve immediately.

Here is my ranch recipe. I usually don’t measure anything, so it’s “unique” each time, but I figured I should try measuring it for others who want to try it out.

Ranch Dip

  • 1/3 cup Vegenaise
  • 1 tablespoon water/soymilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried dill
  • salt & pepper to taste

Whisk these together & let them sit a while to get the flavors working.

For the roasted potato wedges, I took 3 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, sliced them in thin wedges, tossed them in some extra virgin olive oil, and put them in the oven while I was coating the wingz with the panko & stuff. When the wingz go into the oven, take out the potatoes & turn them all over. Put them back in until they’re golden.

If you have pleased the gods, the potatoes and wingz will be done simultaneously. If not, deal with it. When the potatoes came out of the oven, I tossed them with some (not all of it!) Cajun seasoning. Here’s the kind I use. Make a bunch & keep it on hand for all sorts of things. (Yes, it is Emeril’s recipe, but it’s good. Yeah, I know he is a dipshit who (ab)uses animal products at every turn, but this recipe is tasty.)

Cajun Seasoning

  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme

Combine all ingredients thoroughly and store in an air-tight jar or container.

I also made some mocha cupcakes for Ethan’s brother, Andrew, who is turning 26 tomorrow. They were from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. I just added some Medaglia D’ Oro instant espresso to the batter, then made the vanilla frosting, added a bunch to it as well. Then I shaved a bit of chocolate on the top. They would look so much cuter with some chocolate-covered espresso beans on top, but I couldn’t find any in time.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Celine permalink
    June 7, 2008 10:21 am

    your cupcakes look out of this world good!

  2. June 7, 2008 3:18 pm

    Thanks! I didn’t even sample one either. Such restraint.

  3. June 10, 2008 12:19 pm

    Wow tempeh wings!! How insanely awesome. They look great too!

  4. June 10, 2008 7:55 pm

    Ashley~you should try ’em!

  5. June 18, 2008 1:24 pm

    Yummy, these look tasty… and I don’t know where you live, but in New York, there is this vegan restaurant called Red Bamboo that has THE MOST DELICIOUS WINGZ EVER, I almost cried. Truly. Here are some pictures on my blog post: http://kirbyvonscrumptious.blogspot.com/2008/03/bonanza-of-scrumptious-in-nyc.html

    I like your site!!

  6. June 18, 2008 5:45 pm

    You’re lucky! Those wingz looks really delish. I live in Portland, and I’m not sure if we have any restaurants here that serve wingz…

Trackbacks

  1. Nacho Cheez! « Destiny’s Vegan Kitchen
  2. Black Bean Mania « Destiny’s Vegan Kitchen
  3. The Vegan Police
  4. Super Bowl Recipe Suggestions! « The Domestic Vegan
  5. Crispy (Sweet) Potato Roast « chef roommate
  6. Monochrome Meal « chef roommate
  7. Crispy (Sweet) Potato Roast | Let's Talk About...
  8. Monochrome Meal | Let's Talk About...
  9. Tempeh Hot Wings with Vegan Ranch Dipping Sauce - Dirty Gourmet

Leave a Reply

