Skip to content

Sweet & Sour Veggies With Rice

May 31, 2008

I kept eyeballing my can of pineapple on the shelf, wanting to make something sweet, yet savory, so I thought that Sweet & Sour Veggies and Rice would hit the spot.

Yum! I’ll put the recipe for the sauce down below. Make it first, so that once the rice is ready, you can dig in. All I did was chop up a small head of broccoli, about 1 cup of purple cabbage, and heated up my huge cast iron skillet over high heat (my stove is really shitty, so medium-high might be plenty for some folks). Once it was hot, I added about 2 tablespoons of peanut oil, swirled it around, then threw in the broccoli. After it got toasty on one side, I stirred it up, waited a minute or so, then added the cabbage. After another little bit, I poured a frozen bag of Trader Joe’s Veggie Fried Rice into the lot. All I wanted was to get the broccoli hot, with a bit of smoky flavor, and to defrost the rice and get it sort of golden. Here is the sauce, which makes too much for this amount of rice, which is all the more reason for keeping springrolls in the freezer at all times!

Sweet & Sour Sauce

  • 20 ounce can pineapple tidbits in juice
  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar (not seasoned)
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce or tamari
  • 2 tablespoons arrowroot
  • 1/8 teaspoon Chinese 5-spice powder

Drain the juice into a saucepan, and set the pineapple aside. Add the remaining ingredients, and whisk these all together over medium heat until thickened. Stir in the pineapple and chopped green pepper, or whatever suits your fancy. Heat through and set aside. Season to your liking, adding more sweetener, chili sauce, or whatever delights you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Celine permalink
    June 1, 2008 1:53 am

    looks mighty tasty! I, too, have a can of pineapple that’s begging me to use it. maybe that’s the way its life will end?

  2. June 1, 2008 4:57 am

    this sounds so good! I’m gonna have to try it sometime!

  3. June 2, 2008 4:45 pm

    Thanks! I think the sauce needs some work, maybe more sweetener? Maybe I just haven’t had sweet & sour for a long time? Now I have a craving for General Tao’s Tofu though…

    http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=8769.msg76700

Leave a Reply

