Skip to content

Cookie Failure…

February 24, 2008

Well…since I’ve been avoiding sugar for a while now, I thought I’d try to come up with a reliable sugar-free cookie, so that I can enjoy treats too. I tried a recipe that I found online, but it is in DIRE need of more stevia. Maybe next time I’ll add a little agave or maple syrup too, so that they spread, and are sweeter.

Does anyone have a good sugar-free recipe for cookies? I’m not opposed to using grain-sweetened chocolate or carob chips, maple syrup, honey, agave nectar, or stevia–or any combination thereof. Just no sugar, brown sugar, or raw sugar. I’ll definitely make these again, with some changes, and I have a couple more to try, but would love recipes or book suggestions for baking without refined sugar. I’ll post the recipe, in case anyone wants to make them (better), but for sure add more stevia or something; these came out a little like salty shortbread, with chocolate chips & walnuts. Not bad, but they don’t quite do it for me.

2286364849_f299c4175d.jpg

Stevia-sweetened Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1/2 an egg’s worth of ener-G
  • 1/4 teaspoon stevia concentrate (white powder that I got in packets at Trader Joe’s-at least double or triple this amount!)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 + 1/8 teaspoon sea salt (I’d reduce this to 1/8 tsp. next time)
  • 1/4 + 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup grain-sweetened chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350*F and either grease a cookie sheet or cover one with parchment paper. Mix the egg, vanilla, and stevia together. “Cream” the margarine in, which is not really possible in the way that margarine & sugar cream together. Do your best. Add the flour, salt, and baking powder. I ended up using my hands because I didn’t want to activate the gluten too much, and the mixture was “different.” Add the chocolate chips and nuts. Form dough into 12 balls and place on a cookie sheet. These won’t spread at all, so if you don’t want balls, flatten ’em–the recipe I consulted left that part out! : ) Bake for 12-14 minutes, until golden on the bottom. *makes one dozen cookies

**Thank you to my friend Diane, who sent me two cupcake towels, along with a bunch of other lovely/tasty gifts for Valentine’s Day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2008 4:40 pm

    Hey there, please check out my Altered Plates blog for all kinds of recipes with agave nectar instead of cane sugar (or any other sweetener). It’s http://alteredplates.blogspot.com.

  2. May 30, 2008 5:33 pm

    Wow, your website is awesome, Deb. I can’t wait to try some of your recipes, as soon as finals are over…

  3. June 19, 2008 7:58 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Stalingrad!!

Leave a Reply

