Skip to content

Deliciously Creamy Soup…

February 5, 2008

When I decided earlier that a batch of soup was in order, it was mainly due to the little tidbits of veggies that were lurking in my fridge, just waiting to go bad. Well, I have never been as pleasantly surprised with a soup I’ve made! It’s *almost* as good as my sister’s.

The mushrooms were finely minced, since their texture sometimes bothers me, even though their flavor is amazing. The result is like a cross between a potato chowder and cream of mushroom soup, and would surely please <former> fans of clam chowder.

After racking my brain over a little-studied-for mid-term earlier tonight, this soup is exactly what I needed. Of course the ingredients were just what I had, but soup ingredients are pretty substitutable. Wing it!

2243039573_990a743069.jpg

Creamy Potato Mushroom Soup

1 tablespoon margarine
1/2 medium yellow onion, finely diced
1 medium carrot, peeled & finely diced
4-5 button mushrooms, minced
4 russet potatoes, peeled & cubed
unsweetened soy milk
vegetable broth powder (I used Rapunzel)
1 cup frozen sweet corn
1 teaspoon dried parsley
salt & pepper to taste

In a 3-quart saucepan, melt the margarine over medium heat. Add the onions, celery, and carrot; saute, stirring often until veggies are tender. Stir in the mushrooms and saute for a few more minutes. Add the potatoes, then pour in the milk until everything is *just* covered. Add some broth powder, tasting as you go–don’t make it too salty, or you will be sad. Turn up the heat until the soup gets boiling, then turn it down to a simmer. Stir often and either skim the foam off the top, or keep mixing it in (like I did!). When the potatoes are tender, but not falling apart, turn off the heat. Add the corn and parsley, then season to taste.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2008 9:44 am

    that looks positively lovely! perfect way to use extra mushrooms!

  2. learningwoman permalink
    February 6, 2008 10:26 pm

    Looks delicious!

  3. February 7, 2008 8:25 am

    Thank you both! Now I look back, with grief, at all the “odds and ends” mushrooms that I let shrivel in my fridge. : (

Leave a Reply

