Skip to content

Vive Le Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 20, 2007

I don’t own this book, but checked it out from the library recently & figured I might as well try out the cookies that I’ve heard good things about. The guinea pigs? My co-workers, of course! I doubled the recipe & made huge cookies, since that’s fun to do sometimes. To be honest, I am not too fond of them, mainly because they tasted like oil. Maybe more salt would help? Maybe my canola oil is gross? It’s from Trader Joe’s & I’ve never had problems with its flavor before. Oh well. They turned out absolutely beautiful. My friends at work loved them & appreciated the treats at the end of the work week.

1659192507_9f6d17b0bb.jpg

Chocolate Chip Cookies from Vive Le Vegan

2/3 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup, plus 2 tablespoons oil
1/2 cup sugar (I used brown)
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon molasses
2 cups flour (I used white whole wheat)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt (I recommend more)
2/3 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (not in original recipe, but nummy)

Preheat oven to 350*F. Whisk wet ingredients together in a large bowl. Add the dry ones, stirring to combine. Drop dough in 1/4-cup blobs onto large cookie sheet. I got 10 cookies out of this batch, 5 on each cookie sheet. Flatten into circles about 1/2-inch thick. Bake for 13-15 minutes, until crinkly & lightly browned. Let cool 5 minutes before removing from sheets.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2007 6:34 am

    They do look really good! I know what you mean though, I bake with oil, but when maple syrup is also used, the cookies tend to taste a little stranger. One of the vegan authors recommended refrigerating these types of cookies, and it really does seem to help.

  2. October 23, 2007 3:27 pm

    Aah, thanks for the tip, Alisa. I’ll definitely make them again & try chucking them in the fridge. I always think brownies taste better chilled also.

  3. November 25, 2007 12:44 am

    ohh those are a big hit in our house! The other thing you could try cutting back on the oil and replace w/ applesauce.. but, it does chang the texture a bit.. in my experince it makes them a bit cake-y
    jule

  4. December 22, 2007 1:35 pm

    maybe i just haven’t tasted enough vegan chocolate chip cookies, or maybe my taste buds are whacked out, but i love love love these cookies! my only gripe is that sometimes they come out too flat, but when i substitute too much applesauce for oil i find that they also come out “cake-y.” but applesauce does make them puff up more. sorry you weren’t too fond of them – but we can yay together for gigantic cookies! yay! oh, and your picture is beautiful. 🙂

  5. February 16, 2008 1:27 am

    Thanks for the tips everyone! I’ll really give them another try, experimenting with temperature and applesauce substitution, or another type of oil. Maybe my taste buds were just having an “off day”.

  6. June 21, 2009 6:17 pm

    I’m looking for a maple syrup sweetened cookie so these look great! Will swap out 1/4 cup of the syrup for an egg, and the oil for butter. Great photos! Those are some good looking cookies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

