Skip to content

Sweets For The Sweet

September 28, 2007

Since I promised my friends at work that I would bring some treats to our meeting tomorrow, I decided to finally try Isa Chandra Moskowitz’ Pumpkin Pie Brownies. Ever since I saw them on her blog, I couldn’t wait to bake them. They are really great-not too heavy, with a nice fall flavor. Next time, I will bake them a little longer, since the middle was gooey, but the edges are perfectly fudgy. Yum. I used a square brownie pan, edged them, then cut them into 16 little squares (so they’ll go farther) before garnishing them with chips…

1450550048_e63918eec1.jpg

I couldn’t stop there, no. The millions of Halloween cupcake liners popped into my brain, so a batch of peanut butter cups seemed the logical choice. I didn’t really measure, but mixed up some melted margarine, natural crunchy peanut butter, graham cracker crumbs, salt, and enough powdered sugar to make a nice gloppy texture. Then I melted some chocolate chips with a little coconut oil, so that it wouldn’t be waxily hard once refrigerated.

Into each of the twelve liners, I plopped two spoonfuls of chocolate, then tipped each one around and around, until the bottom and sides were coated with a thin layer. Nice.

1449686559_ce7c44c873.jpg

I then took my trusty scooper and placed a good-sized blob of peanut butter mixture into the center, flattening a bit.

1449681413_00550e350f.jpg

There was just enough melted chocolate to pour one spoonful over each of the exposed peanut butter centers, covering them completely. A couple taps on the counter settled everything nicely.

1449678837_ce12d21542.jpg

After a bit of chilling, here is the finished product, perfect for snacking or giving to friends.

1449675929_f30ca3e7ed.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. nik permalink
    September 28, 2007 2:21 pm

    Hi, your pbcups look SO delicious. Can you tell me a ratio of chocolate chips to coconut oil so I can try, too?

  2. September 28, 2007 3:15 pm

    i’m absolutely speechless. were the pumpkin brownies wonderful? i have no doubt that the peanut butter cups were stellar. they look freakin’ amazing!!!!!!

    hey, when you get this message, can you please send me a quick email?

    kittee68 at yahoo dot com

    xo
    kittee

  3. September 28, 2007 5:51 pm

    Nik-I would estimate that I put about 2 tablespoons of coconut oil for 2 cups of chocolate chips, but that’s just a guess. As I made them, they need to be refrigerated for firmness. If you wanted to have them more stable at room temp., maybe only use 1 tablespoon of coconut oil? Good luck!

  4. nik permalink
    September 29, 2007 2:15 am

    Thanks so much! I just found your blog today and I’m really enjoying it. Thanks for sharing!

  5. October 1, 2007 3:46 am

    pb cups are a secret weakness of mine. those look so good!!

  6. paperseed permalink
    October 10, 2007 3:10 am

    Holy smokes, that looks GREAT!

  7. October 31, 2009 2:29 pm

    Those look great! Thanks for the techniques and tips.

Leave a Reply

