Skip to content

Nutso…

September 24, 2007

I went a little crazy today, in preparation for my first day of class tomorrow. I figured I should use my last hours of peace to whip up some hearty snacks that I can pack around. First off, I made some French bread dough, letting it rise during my next project. Here is the finished loaf, half wheat & half white, brushed with garlic oil & sprinkled with kosher salt. It is mighty tasty with split pea soup!

While the dough rose, I scurried around, toasting nuts and seeds, surprised at the variety to be found in our pantry & freezer. The almonds were in great abundance, since Ethan’s parents gave us a 5-pound bag of raw ones from COSTCO. Nice. Here are the honey roasted almonds, recipe from Trial & Error. They are probably easy to veganize, by substituting agave or maple syrup for the honey. In fact, I am anxious to try the maple version out as soon as these are devoured.

2 cups whole almonds with skins on
1/4 cup sugar (don’t skimp on it)
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp honey/agave
2 tbsp water
2 tsp oil

Preheat oven to 350*F. Put almonds on a cookie sheet & roast them, stirring occasionally for 12 minutes until they are crunchy and the raw taste is gone. Set aside. Mix sugar and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

Take water, honey and oil in a 2-3 quart saucepan and heat on medium high stirring often till it boils. Add roasted almonds and mix thoroughly and keep stirring until the water boils down to nothing. It takes about 5-6 minutes. Take it off heat and pour almonds into a medium bowl. Sprinkle sugar-salt mixture over it and mix thoroughly. Cool before storing, or they’ll clump up on you! I also had to add more sugar, probably because it is so humid here.

While these babies cooled, I toasted some more almonds, cashews, pine nuts, walnuts, and pumpkin seeds until fragrant. These were coated with a mixture of margarine, maple syrup, brown sugar, salt, paprika, and cayenne. Then I baked them at 350*F for something like 30 minutes, stirring often. Once the caramel-y goo seemed sufficiently viscous, I took them out, let them cool a few minutes, then stirred them to keep them from solidifying in one huge mass. After a couple more cool stirrings, I put them in a bag. They are super delicious and would make pretty gifts in ribboned cellophane baggies.

I’m not so worried about embarrassing tummy rumbles in class now. It sometimes sounds like a bear is trying to claw it’s way out of my innards.

Here is a bonus shot of some of our Hallowe’en decorations. Is it too early? Well, since this is the only holiday I get into, I couldn’t wait until October began-it’s Fall now anyway. *Please ignore the snowman futon cover. If you had a big ole puppy, you would protect your couch with whatever was clean & available! :o)

One Comment leave one →
  1. nuttysarah permalink
    September 25, 2007 6:08 am

    oh
    my
    those look SO GOOD.

    look – post your recipes on our website – http://www.nutsonline.com – people will love them. i work for the company and we are trying to involve great ideas like this!

Leave a Reply

