Skip to content

My Sister Rules!

September 7, 2007

Last night, she returned from a roadtrip with her friends and brought me back all these surprises. There is a big chunk of salt that resembles rose quartz crystal. I’m not sure whether it’s to be grated or what? It sort of resembles those deoderant rocks, but is definitely for culinary use.

1337244159_b4bc486934.jpg

She also brought me my favorite chocolate bar, a Ritter Sport Cornflake bar, along with some Seattle Chocolate truffles, assorted flavors. Wait! There’s more! The ultimate gift was a bottle of rose syrup, which I have wanted for so many years. We used to go to a cafe here in Portland that served delicious falafel plates and rose-flavored sodas. Yum. I can’t wait to come up with more creative uses. Any ideas are welcome!

I made quite a lot of tasty/healthy food yesterday, including a strawberry/blueberry smoothie…

1337238097_bcc2468d5c.jpg

Tofu scramble, with chives, tomatoes, and basil from our garden…

1338128334_e885334959.jpg

And an old favorite that I hadn’t made in far too long, Smoky Crock Cheeze from “Vegan Vittles”

1337235477_7f88d8c18e.jpg

It’s really similar to those over-salted tubs o’ cheese that people get for parties, but is actually healthy and satisfying, especially on some wheaty crackers. I’ve been known to use it as a sandwich spread too. Mmmm.

Here is the recipe:

Crock Cheeze from “Vegan Vittles” by Joanne Stepaniak

1/2 pound tofu, rinsed, patted dry, & crumbled
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
2 tablespoons tahini
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 1/2 tablespoons miso
1 teaspoon onion powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika (I double this)
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard

Blend everything in a food processor until creamy, scraping down the bowl several times. I usually add 1/4 teaspoon liquid smoke to mine, as one of several suggested variations. This spread/dip is best once it has chilled for awhile to blend the flavors.

*One more thing–this also looks really great for a party, when piped onto crackers from a pastry bag. Sprinkle with paprika. Vegan friends will appreciate the extra care too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2007 10:19 pm

    I am dying over the Ritter bar. I’ve never had one before, and the cornflake variety sounds freakin’ yum. I’m also intrigued by the rose syrup she got you. I use rose water myself, but have never tried using a sweetened syrup before. You could probably make some interesting peanut butter rice crispy squares with that, or even some lebanese iced tea. Just plain ice tea, with a bit of rose syrup and pine nuts. Serve it sweet or not.

    xo
    kittee

  2. September 10, 2007 7:02 pm

    I finally couldn’t hold out any longer and ate almost all the Ritter bar last night. I wish they made a dark chocolate version-I’m sure it would be delish too.

    The rose syrup/peanut butter squares sounds so intriguing and different-thanks for the idea! Yum. The bottle had recipes for dacquiris, ice tea, and rose tarragon vinegar. I was thinking about trying some sort of rose-creamsicle milkshake, vegan or otherwise. Maybe on the next hot day? And baklava.

Leave a Reply

