Skip to content

More Cupcakes~

September 5, 2007

Okay, there have been a lot of cupcakes floating through this house this week, but I swear that I sent all but one of the green ones to Ethan’s work. Really.

There was a big bag of lemons here that I simply had to use, so I practically had no choice but to bake Lemon Gem Cupcakes. My other baking/cooking icon, Isa Chandra Moskowitz, author of “Vegan With a Vengeance” and “Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World” (along with the soon-to-be-released Veganomicon)is the mastermind behind these beauties.

If you love lemons, these are for you. They are probably the most lemony treats I have ever had…tart, tangy, and lusciously scented. Thank goodness I only made a half batch, because I ate them all in less than 24 hours.

These gems contain basically as much lemon flavor as one can pack into an edible form, besides an actual lemon.

1332656712_3a238f0627.jpg

The recipe is available on Amazon if you do a “search inside the book.” Please buy the book if you like them though (preferably not from Amazon, but from a local bookstore) and show Isa your appreciation for all her hard work. Besides these lovelies, I can vouch for the tempeh sausage crumbles, tempeh bacon, herb-roasted potatoes, glazed orange scones, the best pumpkin muffins, punk rock chickpea gravy, Brooklyn pad Thai, sparkled ginger cookies, big gigantoid crunchy peanut butter-oatmeal cookies, and ginger-macadamia-coconut-carrot cake. As for her cupcake book, let’s just say that I have made A LOT of them (for work and personal enjoyment) and leave it at that. Moving on…

Inside shot, showing off the zest…

1332655334_f16dfab9e6.jpg

And just to show you that I consume more than cupcakes, here are some baby veggies and fruits from our garden. There is a little red bell pepper, along with a bunch of tomatoes. I love our garden!

1331770867_1001d51fae.jpg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2007 12:27 am

    I indeed a sucker for all things lemon-flavored so I’ll follow your advice and give these a try!

  2. thesarcasticvegan permalink
    September 6, 2007 12:58 am

    I have to get a better camera to take pictures like these. I love your site. Keep up the good work.

  3. September 6, 2007 8:35 pm

    Homesick Texan-let me know if you make them. They’re surprisingly addictive, and that’s coming from a chocolate fiend. :o)

    thesarcasticvegan-thanks for your words of encouragement. I kind of fizzled out a while back and considered giving up the blog, but nice comments like yours keep me inspired!

Leave a Reply

