Skip to content

Neglected Fruit

August 7, 2007

The other day, my mom, my sister, and I went on a walk around the neighborhood. We were astounded by the number of fruit trees that are taken for granted, so of course we had to bring a canvas bag and load up on free (probably organic) goodness. Are these lucky people going to the store to buy fruit, leaving pounds of the freshest, juiciest fruit to the bugs? Madness.

1040865073_8adbd12bf0.jpg

Soon, there will be oodles of ripe figs. So far, I have only found a recipe for fig chutney in my “1000 Vegetarian Recipes” cookbook. All my other books call for dried figs & I am unfortunately without a food dehydrator. Does anyone have any recipes for fresh figs? I have to admit that I am intimidated, but up for a challenge. It simply pains me to see all the rotting fruit on the ground. Help!

1040864695_b7cc94a41c.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

