Skip to content

Knitting Post…

December 28, 2008
tags:

I’ve been knitting & crocheting my ass off for presents this season for a few reasons:  I love it, I’m broke, & I have a ton of horded crafty supplies up in here.

**WARNING** These items are made from wool yarn.  I have a lot of it in my stash & also buy it at Goodwill & whatnot.  I have major issues with acrylic because I think it is shitty for the environment & creepy.  Please don’t hate me!

If you knit and/or crochet, I highly recommend signing up with Ravelry, if you haven’t already.  It has an IMMENSE wealth of patterns (tons for free!), knowledge, & inspiration.  The following link might not work if you are logged in to Ravelry.

I made a shitload of these fingerless mitts for people.  I can do them without the pattern now too, which is a first for me!  I kind of want some for myself, but feel my hands need some TLC & a vacation.  They’re really easy if you know how to use double pointed needles.  Everything is really basic & even though they can be made in 3 different sizes, they’re stretchy enough to allow a lot of wiggle room.

I also made another pair of blue ones & a teal pair that I didn’t take a picture of, as well as a scarf for my friend, Sage, in Sweden.  It’s the first time I’ve sent something overseas, so I was really anal about packaging it up & getting it ready, then I realized I hadn’t taken any photos of it.  Oh well.  Maybe she’ll send me some of her wearing it!

redmitts1

bluemitts3

pinkmitts1

tanmitts1

purplemitts1

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 2:58 pm

    The fingerless mitts are so cool! Maybe one day I’ll progress from just making scarves. I need to get back on Ravelry.

  2. Kala permalink
    January 1, 2009 12:59 pm

    Fingerless mitts are the best gifts, I made a pair for my mom for X-mas and she loves them.

  3. January 26, 2009 2:08 pm

    Definitely no hating on the use of wool for your mittens. I will buy wool too, for knitting, but I try to purchase wool that either benefits via fair trade, or women in Tibet, or something like that to help offset the guilt of using the animal. One place that I like is [http://homesteadwoolandgiftfarm.com/]. They rescue sheep and sheer them only out of necessity (usually only once a year), they don’t breed them, they don’t eat them, etc.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

