Skip to content

Cross-stitch Craziness…

December 28, 2008

Okay, these post titles just keep getting worse, but I’m tired.  I made this bookmark for my friend, Brent, who just had open-heart surgery.  He was joking around about how he would sing this song when he woke up, since, because he’ll have an artificial heart valve, he’ll be part robot.  He’s so awesome.  I can’t wait till school starts so I can give it to him!

robot

And this is quite goofy, but I absolutely love it!  It was started a couple years ago, when Eth & I lived together, but then I put it away after the big move.  Since we’re moving back in together, I thought I should finish it up so it can go on our living room wall somewhere.  Some of the parts are from Jo Verso’s books (She was fuckin’ amazing!  Rest in peace.) and others were things I made up.

familyportrait

Ruben really does have a heart on his side like that!  I’m holding a cake & Eth is holding a stack of books.  Up until recently, he’s been a book-buying fool, but has weeded his collection down to a sane level.

Okay, that’s all!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2008 4:12 am

    Very cute!

  2. December 29, 2008 9:27 pm

    Oh my GAH these are the darlingest things I’ve ever seen. I need to start cross stitching… how do you make your patterns? Do you use a program or do you just draw them?

  3. December 30, 2008 7:43 am

    I’ll second the above GAH! That last piece is overwhelmingly adorable/awesome. Well done, you.

  4. December 30, 2008 7:12 pm

    Thanks guys!

    Kirby!—I don’t have a pattern. I just print out, or use store-bought, graph paper. I then use colored pencils to draw each “section”, cut them out, then arrange them on a new, clean sheet. That way, I don’t have to erase & fiddle around to get the lay-out just right. Once it looks right, I tape them or glue them into place. It’s fun!

  5. January 4, 2009 5:28 pm

    wow those are adorable!!!

  6. January 6, 2009 10:42 am

    These are beautiful, Destiny. I used to do some cross-stitch way back when, but haven’t in a long time. These are inspiring!

  7. January 7, 2009 7:30 am

    I’m *pretty* sure I’m going to have that song stuck in my head all day now! ;)
    Awesome work! I might just have to hire you to make something for me!

  8. January 12, 2009 8:26 am

    Haha, these are sooo adorable. Honestly, this is the BEST kind of gift to receive… it’s so sweet and personalized!

  9. acookinthemaking permalink
    January 14, 2009 5:33 pm

    love all the crafts! hope the new year is treating you well so far…

  10. January 22, 2009 3:03 pm

    haha i love your mr roboto cross stitching!

  11. March 2, 2009 11:54 pm

    Love the cross stitch! You know I love crafts ;)

  12. June 10, 2009 10:28 pm

    so cute!

  13. Sylvia permalink
    December 11, 2009 5:21 pm

    Oh this is really adorable. Just in time for the holidays.. I love it. Makes me think of what my cross stitch would look like…
    -Sylvia
    Acid Cigars

  14. September 28, 2010 8:48 pm

    Thanks for making me smile I really needed it today.

Trackbacks

  1. 27 robots vs aliens cross stitches

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

