Skip to content

Early Birthday Post!

July 3, 2008

Well, tomorrow is my birthday, so even though it may sound pathetic, I always make my own cake/treats. There are a few reasons for this. I LOVE TO BAKE! That’s number one. Also, no one else I know is into baking, so if I didn’t make my own cake, it’d be store-bought or something. Lastly, there are few occasions where I get to bake & decorate full-on cakes, because a lot of my friends/family do not enjoy cake. Seriously. Sometimes my sister will eat cupcakes, but she doesn’t really prefer them. Mostly cookies/bars.

Anyhoo, I baked this stuff today, so that on my actual birthday, I can take it easy & relax. My sister is taking me to Vita Cafe, so that will be fun. Hopefully they’ll be open; they were last year. If not, we’ll just gorge ourselves on cupcakes! The cake will be for when Ethan & I celebrate together.

I made one batch of (Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World) chocolate cupcake batter & one batch of fluffy vanilla buttercream. The batter went into 12 mini cupcakes, & the rest got scraped into my mini cake pan.

Then I set aside a bit of frosting for the flowers, a larger amount was made violet, a tinier amount gold. The rest of it was mixed with an entire crushed,jumbo Chick-o-Stick (delightful peanut butter & toasted coconut candy, which tastes like a chocolate-less Butterfinger).

While the cupcakes & cake were baking, I made the flowers, each on their own separate parchment square. These then went into the freezer to harden. Usually I like to make flowers in advance & let them dry, but I procrastinated too much here.

After the cakey items were cool, I piped some Chick-o-Frosting on the cupcakes, then stuck a frozen flower (quickly!) onto the tops of each. The rest of the frosting went in & on the cake (two layers), then the remaining flowers (that survived my clumsy, warm fingers) were stuck onto the sides & top.

I’m really happy with how they all turned out & will try my best not to eat them till tomorrow. Of course I sampled the frosting along the way—it tastes just like a Butterfinger Blizzard, if you’ve ever had one from Dairy Queen.

Okay. Happy 4th of July, even though I am SO unpatriotic! At least a lot of people have a 3-day weekend out of the deal. Stay safe!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2008 8:45 pm

    All those goodies look delicious!

    Happy birthday!

  2. July 4, 2008 7:34 am

    What a beautiful cake! I love baking too, so it seems like such a good idea to make your own cake for your b-day.

  3. July 4, 2008 9:44 am

    Wowza! I so want that whole cake in my tummy. Where can one obtain these chick-o-sticks?

  4. Celine permalink
    July 4, 2008 11:26 am

    simply put, these are works of art.

  5. Celine permalink
    July 4, 2008 11:27 am

    ps: happy early birthday!

  6. July 4, 2008 2:18 pm

    Everything is SO beautiful! I’ve just discovered your blog, and I love it. You have such talent…aren’t icing flowers fun to make?! :0) I can’t wait to see your other creations!

  7. July 4, 2008 6:27 pm

    happy birthday, and holy crap, you’re a baking goddess! pretty flowers and chik-0-stick icing is like… perfect birthday food.

  8. July 4, 2008 9:52 pm

    I love these! The flower toppers are just too cute!

  9. July 5, 2008 3:01 am

    Happy birthday!

    Those flowers are so cute. Your cakes and cupcakes look amazing.

    (And so does everything else on your blog. I am going to add you to my blogroll, I hope that is okay!)

  10. July 5, 2008 5:36 am

    Happy Birthday! And what an absolutely gorgeous cake and cupcakes! I love the purple flowers–really beautiful.

    Oh, about your comment on my blog: glad you liked the plum cake! And just so you know, everything on my blog is refined-sugar free (and also wheat free). :)

  11. July 5, 2008 7:09 am

    Wow! That is a beautiful cake – and happy birthday!!

  12. July 5, 2008 11:43 am

    Thank you all for the birthday wishes!

    Rachel—Where I live, the Chick-O-Sticks are available at regular grocery stores, like Fred Meyer. But I’ve also noticed that small convenience stores & gas stations have a nicer assortment of old-fashioned/rare candies. Good luck!

    Allison—Thanks! Yeah, I have so much fun making flowers & decorating cakes. I really need to push myself to make roses though. I’m intimidated by all their petals!

    Sanja—Of course it’s okay to add me; I just added you too! I recently discovered your blog & love it!

  13. Mom permalink
    July 5, 2008 11:51 am

    Happy Birthday my Sweetheart Daughter!
    The cupcakes & Birthday cake are BEAUTIFUL!
    You are an Artist of Food, lol…I am so proud of you!

    xxoo
    Mom

  14. July 5, 2008 12:15 pm

    Wow! You are extremely skilled at frosting design!

    I am fairly new to food blogging & I really like your site. Have a great birthday & Happy 4th!

  15. July 8, 2008 12:30 am

    Thank you, Mom!

    Katie–Thanks. I’m glad you enjoy the site & I hope you had a happy 4th as well!

  16. July 8, 2008 12:53 am

    Wow, these are insanely beautiful!

  17. vegtasticvoyage permalink
    July 8, 2008 12:37 pm

    A happy birthday to you. After reading this post I finally ran out and got a copy of VCTOTW. I’m putting frosting flowers on everything from now on!

  18. July 9, 2008 5:47 pm

    Melisser–Thanks! I take that as a huge compliment, coming from you. Your blog is so amazing!

    vegtasticvoyage–Yay! That book is so great. Everything I’ve made from it has turned out great. The only problem I’ve run into is that some of the recipes don’t yield as many as they’re supposed to. I want to put flowers on everything too!

  19. July 12, 2008 6:27 am

    Happy belated Birthday! These are adorable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

