Skip to content

Coconut Cookies

June 25, 2008

These are really delightful cookies. They’re buttery, crispy around the edges, chewy in the middle, and are dotted with molten flecks of chocolate throughout.

The original recipe is from vegweb, but apparently it’s down right now.*** I’ll update with the link when it’s available, but this is my (slightly varied) take on it:

Chocolate Chunk Coconut Cookies

  • 3/4 cup margarine
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg replacer (Ener-G)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I like salty cookies!)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 375*F. Cream the first 5 ingredients together until fluffy. Combine the dry ingredients (not including coconut & chocolate) in a small bowl, then add to the creamed goo. Stir until combined, then add the chocolate & coconut until evenly distributed. My cookie scoop holds about 1 1/2 tablespoons of dough, so I got 30 small cookies. Use two spoons or whatever to make yours, if you aren’t a lazy bastard like me. Place the blobs about an inch apart & flatten the tops slightly before baking for 8-12 minutes. I bake mine until the cookies “deflate” when the cookie sheet is whacked on the counter (around the 8 minute mark). If you go longer than this, or wait for them to deflate & crinkle on their own, they’ll probably be crispy once they’re cooled. Whatever floats yer boat though!

***Oops! The recipe is actually from VegFamily, by Summer. This is what I get for printing out recipes without making note of their origins…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. karisullivan permalink
    June 25, 2008 8:06 pm

    These look awesome. They are definitely going to be the next cookies I make.

  2. June 26, 2008 9:34 am

    these look scrumptious! they are now on the list of travel cookies for when I fly this summer..i always have to have travel cookies ;)

  3. June 27, 2008 2:54 pm

    Looking at your site is like torture for me. I’m nine months pregnant and I can’t come here without developing a wicked craving. But I can’t not come here because, hello!, beautiful tasty food. I want to eat it all. If only we were neighbors and you wanted to cook for me every day . . . :P

    I suggested this site to my Sis-in-Law and she’s pretty excited about it. She’s got a job where she can’t bring in outside food and the food there isn’t vegan, so now that she’s done, she’s excited to go vegan all the way. :) I thought it would be difficult to come up with vegan meals, but when I dip into my Lebanese recipe box, I find that any meal that doesn’t have meat is vegan. Very cool. I’ll be posting a bunch of those recipes in the upcoming weeks on my recipe blog. Got them all queued up!

    Now for some coconut cookies!

  4. June 27, 2008 3:45 pm

    Thanks, karisullivan & Sara!

    Shawna-sorry to torture you. I would love to feed you, especially since I don’t need to constantly eat cookies & treats, and don’t have the excuse that I’m eating for two!

    I recently got a clearance book at my school’s bookstore, called “Food for the Vegetarian: Traditional Lebanese Recipes”, but I haven’t tried it out yet. A lot of them look really simple & are vegan already. Thanks for reminding me about it. I hope you have an easy birthing experience.

  5. June 28, 2008 7:37 am

    those sound wonderful! chewy coconutty *and* salty? yum yum!

  6. October 1, 2008 7:50 pm

    sublime sublime sublime! that’s all i can say :D

  7. July 22, 2013 3:31 pm

    At a young age, you help supplement the moisture to the delicate skin and moisturize fine lines.
    Since the skin under your eyes. Though you might not also be much concerned about
    it, age specific eye creams would also be an important
    consideration. The other ingredient is Argireline which has the ability to engage with people
    at higher levels because they are too harsh; they can
    also sip into your eyes.

Trackbacks

  1. Potluck Peanut Post « Destiny’s Vegan Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

