Skip to content

I Love pEaNuT bUtTeR!

October 15, 2007

These babies are from “Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook”. I’m totally over her snobbery & elitism now, but I wasn’t last summer when I “had to have” the book. So I might as well use it, eh?! These are a homemade, higher quality, version of Nutter Butters-crispy, delicately buttery peanut butter cookies, sandwiched with a rich & creamy peanut butter filling. Yum yum.

I made a few substitutions, such as using white whole wheat flour in the cookies, and soy milk rather than heavy cream in the filling (because who has cream lying around all the time?). It’s great that “Martha” (or whomever really writes the recipes) specifically called for natural peanut butter. Too many times, I have found, recipes warn against the use of natural peanut butter. Who knows why? I only use it & have never had a problem with cookies turning out weird or flat. More unhealthy hydrogenation propaganda for the masses, I guess.

1573742419_59937f19e81.jpg

Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies

3/4 cup margarine, room temperature
3/4 cup peanut butter (I used chunky Adam’s)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 Ener-G egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups white whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Beat together the first four ingredients until fluffy. Add the egg & vanilla & continue beating until super fluffy and light in color. Carefully stir in the flour, baking soda, & salt until combined. Wrap the dough in plastic & chill overnight.

Make the filling:

6 tablespoons margarine, room temperature
3/4 cup peanut butter
3/4 cup powdered sugar
2-3 tablespoon soy milk

Beat the first three ingredients together until fluffy. Only add enough soy milk to give it a good, creamy consistency, not runny or gooshy.

************************************************************************************************************

Preheat oven to 325*F. Line two large baking sheets with parchment. Roll dough to 1/4-inch thickness, either between parchment, or with a little flour on the counter. Slice into 2 1/2-by-1-inch rectangles. Using a fork, drag lines into the cookie tops for decoration (or do any other sort of pattern you like). Chill the cookies for 15-20 minutes to firm them up again. Then place on the baking sheets 1 1/2-inches apart & bake for 15-20 minutes, until golden & firm. If you are baking two sheets at once (which I have some OCD about & cannot do!), rotate the sheets halfway through the baking time.

Let cool completely before filling each pair with a tablespoon of filling. Martha says that once they are filled, the cookies should be eaten within a day. I haven’t tested this yet. I assume they’ll lose their crispness, but still be delicious anyway. You could always just fill ‘em as you go if you’re worried about textural changes.

The recipe says it’ll make 3 dozen sandwich cookies, but I only baked up four of them, since I don’t need a house full of cookies. It doesn’t seem like it will make that many though. Most cookbooks seem to “stretch the truth” in that area anyway.

I also made some deliciously spicy yellow curry with peas, for dinner. The curry is from a huge, 2-lb. bucket of mix that was less than $5 & is composed of all natural ingredients. We go to this totally awesome restaurant supply store that’s sort of like COSTCO, but you don’t need to be a member. There is also no minimum purchase amount & they take debit cards, despite their name, “Cash & Carry” (also known as “United Grocers”). I highly recommend looking them up to see if there’s one in your area. So fun! Sorry for the blather, here’s the curry…

1573740173_8d32105280.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2007 5:40 am

    Yum those cookies look good. I really like that cookbook and find the Martha associated recipes to usually be really good so I don’t care who writes them or if she’s a snob.

  2. October 15, 2007 5:43 pm

    Yeah, I’m the same way. I’ve only made a couple things out of this particular book-the berry slab pie was *amazing*.

  3. Don permalink
    April 4, 2008 10:36 pm

    You crack me up!

  4. December 29, 2008 5:11 pm

    Look, I added ur link as urs is vegan peanut butter sandwich cookies where u and me followed Martha steward’s recipes.
    I’ve to visit ur blog where I found it very lately.

  5. February 6, 2011 5:48 am

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

