Skip to content

Excuse the Language…

October 11, 2007

But **What The Fuck Is This tHiNg?!**

1539617509_107cb1790f.jpg

I was simply walking around, checking to see which plants needed watered, and this is on the goddamn wall next to our (no longer “spooky”) Halloween banner. I then ran into the kitchen to find a glass to trap the sucker in. Seriously, does anyone know what this is? I’ve never seen anything like it, and have lived here all my life. After I snapped some pictures, I released it into the wild of our back yard, hoping that it won’t take down any of the dogs. I’m not afraid of snakes, rats, or spiders but, Jesus, I have my limits.

Update!

I did a quick search just now & stumbled across a cool site called What’s That Bug? Apparently it is called a house centipede & is harmless. Here is what they said to a guy who wanted to get them outta his house:

“We do not recommend ridding your home of House Centipedes. They are harmless predators that will eat more destructive and harmful arthropods in your home.”

Good to know, although I would be happy if I never found another one in my house as long as I live!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2007 4:14 pm

    Ah, oh my god, that’s exactly the same sort of bug I found in my dorm room a month ago! I believe it’s a sort of cockroach, sometimes referred to as a water bug? Can’t say for sure, but it’s fairly harmless… Even if it does look pretty damn creepy!

  2. October 11, 2007 11:15 pm

    Gross! Thanks for the quick reply. I’ll have to look it up because I am so curious about what it eats & stuff-hopefully not humans, cats, or dogs. Sorry you’ve had to deal with the little creepazoids yourself. (I was really afraid to do yoga this morning & kept checking the floor around me for movement-not very relaxing!)

  3. October 12, 2007 4:47 am

    meep!! this is creepy. I’ve grown a bit more accepting of insects at large since growing up, moving to Cali, and having cats to defend me but still: I have my limits, and this baby is beyond said limit. ;p

  4. October 12, 2007 11:01 pm

    Celine-you are an early riser, woman! I try to be brave, but since I had no idea if it was poisonous or not, I was freaked. Plus, you should have seen it in the glass-it was going crazy & waving it’s millions of stripy legs like mad!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

